Cabernet Sauvignon- is It Vegan?

Kind of a trick question folks. Just about any wine can be vegan- or not. It’s all a question of how the winemaker wants to clarify their finished wine.

Wine is inherently vegan, being made from grapes and yeast, but most producers filter the wine for appearance and stability in bottle. Most of that filtering is done with egg, milk or fish derived products-vegan wines are either unfiltered or filtered using other means.

You’ll find an increasing number of bottles labeled vegan these days, and there’s no decline in quality for vegan wines, so everyone can enjoy Cabernet Sauvignon... Or Syrah... or Chardonnay...

learn about wine, one sip at a time >